Melissa's Table

Experiments with Pinterest recipes!

Melissa’s Table Original: Ice Cream Cake September 14, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — MelGag @ 6:59 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

I’m going to do something a little different today, and post a semi-original recipe.

Tuesday 09/11 was my husband’s 28th birthday. He asked that I not get him a gift because he was holding out for the new iPhone 5. We have a system of upgrade in our household. He got the iPhone 3, I got the 3gs. He got the iPhone 4, I got the 4s. He’ll get the iPhone 5, I’ll get the iPhone 5xkg or whatever letter combination Apple uses. So in lieu of a present, I baked him a cake. But not just any cake, an ice cream cake!

I call this a “semi” original because I modified three different recipes to make it.

  1. The Ice Cream Cake Recipe – I used this recipe to build the cake, but I made a few changes because my husband hates chocolate, and I wanted to make the cake and icing from scratch.
  2. David’s Yellow Cake Recipe – I chose this recipe for the cake part of the cake and halved all of the ingredients.
  3. Quick Almost Professional Buttercream Icing – And I went with this recipe for the icing and doubled the ingredients.
I made yellow cake and buttercream icing because my husband doesn’t like chocolate. If you want chocolate, you can always modify my modified recipe. The only thing I didn’t make myself was the ice cream. Yeah, I just wasn’t going there. Here is my recipe (melded from those above) for Melissa’s Semi-Original Semi-Homemade Ice Cream Cake.
To read the full post, please visit Melissa’s Table at our new home.
 

Leave a Reply

